Six Postmaster Non-Executive Director candidates for elections announced

Six Postmaster Non-Executive Director candidates for elections announced

Today (10 March) we have announced the six candidates who have been shortlisted for the two Postmasters Non-Executive Director role. An email was sent from Group CEO Nick Read to Postmasters this morning announcing the six candidates and next steps. A summary is below.


Twelve candidates were recently interviewed by the independent panel of retail and industry experts. The panel shortlisted the final six candidates.

The candidates are: 

  • Lee Dearn, Postmaster for Sydenham, Belfast, County Antrim
  • Mukhtar Goraya, operates two Post Offices (New Eltham, London and Rosherville, Kent)
  • Saf Ismail, operates six Post Offices (five in Lancashire – Blackpool Road, Bolton, Heywood, New Hall Lane, Plungington Road) and Farnworth, Greater Manchester
  • Elliot Jacobs, operates seven Post Offices (five in London – Camden, Crouch End, East Finchley, Muswell Hill, Stoke Newington) and Hertford and Potters Bar in Hertfordshire
  • Jasbir Parmar, Postmaster for Kempston, Bedfordshire
  • Sarabjeet Soar, Postmaster for Styvechale, Warwickshire

These candidates will now stand for election. And it will be over to Postmasters and Partners to vote for the two candidates who they want on the Post Office Board. 

From Monday 22 March 9.30am and for three weeks until Monday 12 April 09.30am, voting will be open for all Postmasters to cast their vote.

The election process is being overseen independently by Civica Elections Services.

The Code of Conduct for the elections and campaigning is available here.

The two candidates with the most votes will be put forward for approval by the Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy following confirmation that the nominations committee of the Board are also satisfied with the candidates.

Post Office will announce the two successful Postmaster Non-Executive Directors at the earliest opportunity following that approval.